Brave Family Movie Night

“Our fate lives within us…you only have to be brave enough to see it.”

Brave_Poster

Last weeks family movie night was Brave.  Bella had gone through a period where this was a favorite but she stopped watching it.  Ava was really into it though.  I honestly have mixed feelings about this one.  I love that it is a movie that teaches girls to stand up for themselves and that they don’t have to fit into a certain type of mold, however I do not like her attitude toward her mother at the beginning of the movie.  But of course like all Disney movies it has a great ending and all is well.

For our menu we had:

  • Queen Elinor’s Fresh Caught Salmon
  • Maudie’s Mashed Potatoes
  • Merida’s Arrows (oven roasted asparagus)
  • Witch’s Brew (Green Hawaiian Punch)
  • The Triplet’s Empire Bisquits

IMG_5064

Bella is actually a huge fan of Salmon and so she loved this dinner.  I was also really surprised to find she really liked the asparagus and ate that as well.  For the Salmon we just cooked it on the griddle, mine and the girls was topped with a Roasted Garlic and Herb seasoning and Spencer’s was topped with Cajun seasoning.

IMG_5068

I also attempted to make the little cakes you see throughout the movie that the triplets keep eating.  Apparently they are called Empire Biscuits and are a popular Scottish sweet. At least that’s what I read.  Bella and I were huge fans of them, Spencer and Ava not so much.  Its ok that just meant more for me and Bella.  The only things I had problems with were the shape wasn’t as pretty as the ones in the movie and my frosting wasn’t thick enough to show.  I also used a strawberry jam on top instead of the cherry drops it calls for.  I’m just not a cherry fan. But they were still pretty dang delicious.

 

5 thoughts on “Brave Family Movie Night

  1. Your girls must have so much fun on these movie nights. Making food that matches is such a wonderful idea. As a teacher, I would like to add that when you have misgivings about a movie (such as the portrayal of the mother in the beginning), it’s a great learning experience to discuss this with your kids. Ask them what they think and discuss your own feelings. Have fun!

    1. Thank you! That is really great advice. I think that would really work for my 4 year old. I’ll have to try that next time we watch this or any other movie I have misgivings about.

  2. What a great idea! My kids and I love this movie. I love the idea of planning a menu around the movie. My kids are 2 & 4 and a little picky, but I’d love to try this when they are a little older.

    1. Mine are the same ages :). They are picky as well but I feel they actually do better when we offer them different things. It may take them a few times to eat it but they usually will start after a few attempts. My oldest now eats the salmon and this was the first time she actually ate the asparagus and we’ve cooked it multiple times. My youngest didn’t eat as much. Also I think naming them to match the movie really helps my oldest enjoy the food and she eats better on family movie night than any other night.

Leave a Reply

